Introduction

Secure Erase is an action to completely erase user’s data from the SSDs. This feature will entirely reset all the SSD storage blocks to empty and prevent any important data from leaking.

Why Secure Erase?

When it comes to data, it is important to know how it is erased and if it is completely and securely erased. Many software utilities can erase data securely, however, Secure Erase command is supported by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) as an acceptable way of sanitizing data. As a data sanitization, Secure Erase commands can completely overwrite all of the data on a storage medium. No file recovery program, partition recovery program, or other data recovery methods will be able to extract data from the drive.

How Does It Work?

When the Secure Erase command is given to the SSD, it will initial an action to completely erase user’s data from the drive. This feature will completely reset all the SSD storage blocks to empty and restore the drive to its original state.